a simple start

Being uncertain as to where this undertaking will go has severely delayed its start. Kevin Drew (Broken Social Scene) said that “the whole idea of starting or finishing something is one of the scariest things in the world to me”…and I agree. But every thing must start somewhere. So I’ll start by sharing something that struck me yesterday. I’m re-reading Kerouac’s On the Road. This moment made me stop and think:

“We’re all in this together,” yelled Ponzo. I saw that was so – everywhere I went, everybody was in it together.

Simple. Beautiful. And true. We’re all in this together.

Reading this (and having it resonate the way it did) reminded me of a similar moment earlier this year. I was with a group of friends at a Death Cab for Cutie show. About half-way through the night Ben Gibbard paused and looked out over the crowd in between songs. The mood was upbeat and carefree; everyone was dancing and singing and loving on the band and on each other. He smiled as he scanned the crowd, nodded satisfactorily, and said “Take care of each other.” Again…simple. Beautiful. And true. Reading the Kerouac and being reminded of that moment gave me a sense of peace and comfort. It reminded me that none of us are alone. We’re all in this together. So why not take care of each other, and fill our days with knowing others and allowing ourselves to be known.

Leave a comment

Filed under musings

Leave a Reply

