hush and wonder

I *tried* to get this started a few months ago. And failed. I left the first post up, just for kicks. Primarily because it reminds me that while nothing monumental has happened to inspire the creation of a blog – I’m still changing. Every day, I am different. And I need to stop worrying (or worry less) about what y’all (just for kicks) will think. I need to practice sharing – my life, my thoughts, my hopes and dreams and fears – with others.

Right. So. I saw 500 Days of Summer, a while back, and liked it. A lot. Except for the narrator’s mini-monolouge at the end, which went something like this:

Most days of the year are unremarkable. They begin, and they end, with no lasting memories made in between. Most days have no impact on the course of a life.

I disagree, whole-heartedly. Every day is remarkable, to me. I’ll admit some require a closer look than others. But my, my…I find myself picking and choosing every day, from teetering stacks of meaning. I’ll expound later on.

A brief aside, for now: not sure if the blog title will stay. Not sure what the blog will *be*. I came across the *hush and wonder* idea at The Violet Hour, a lovely quirky trendy cocktail lounge here in Chicago. It’s a drink, there. It’s also part of Bernard DeVoto’s ode to happy hour: This is the violet hour, the hour of hush and wonder, when the affections glow again and valor is reborn, when the shadows deepen magically along the edge of the forest and we believe that, if we watch carefully, at any moment we may see the unicorn. I removed the concept, momentarily, from its association with alcohol, and thought it might help explain what I hope/think may happen, here. The hour of hush and wonder…a time to be still and silent. A time to reflect. To seek and feel and experience the wonder that surrounds us…that permeates and penetrates each and every one of our days.

Leave a comment

Filed under musings

Leave a Reply

