just recently:

*A few more crushes

*The start of a mighty life (with so much more to come/change…but, if I don’t start somewhere, I’m afraid I won’t start at all)

*A summation: excessive vacation days + deficient monetary funds = stay-cation. And I could not recommend one more highly. Lots of relaxing and exploring and re-connecting with myself and others. The collection of moments big and small from the past few days evokes overwhelming feelings of thankfulness and appreciation for the life I’ve built/am building in this city. I lose sight all too easily of the joys and wonders that sit right in front of me. Especially when I’m constantly looking forward, trying to tackle the big picture and decide “what’s next”; where I’d rather be, what I’d rather be doing, etc. I unconsciously set all that aside, temporarily, in exchange for: long dinners with lovely friends *mid-day movies *lots and lots of reading (the rest of White Teeth, these short stories, and Susan SontagJonathan Franzen essay collections) *multiple library trips *long runs *snowy walks *churros and hot chocolate *family time *writing in the Fern Room at the Lincoln Park Conservatory *wandering around the Art Institute *preparing presents *photographing Christmas cheer *conversations with strangers *lots of coffee and tea and reflections on the past year/the year ahead. Now if I could just carry these sentiments, this slower pace of life, this combination of contentment and anticipation, along with me for a while…

1 Comment

Filed under musings

One response to “just recently:

  1. good start to ‘a mighty life’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

